About the workshop

We are pleased to invite you to participate in the "Conference on Laser Energy Science (CLES2016)" and the "14th International workshop on fast ignition and high field physics with high power lasers". The CLES2016 will be held jointly with the workshop at Pacifico-Yokohama, Yokohama Japan, on May 17 (Tue) - 20 (Fir), 2016.

The workshop, held every two years, brings togather the leading international researchers in the field of Fast Ignition Inertial Confinement Fusion and High Field Physics with High Power Lasers. This workshop will continue the series of successful workshops, the most recent of which were held in Boston (2006), Crete (2008), Shanghai (2010), Napa (2012), and Oxford (2014).

The program will include invited, oral and poster presentations as well as discussion sessions. The meeting will follow the informal, interactive atmosphere as past workshops.

The 14th workshop will be held jointly with the conference named CLES2016 in the OPIC2016 conference system. OPIC2016 consists of about ten individual conferences, and CLES2016 is one of those.

Abstract submission and registration of this workshop will be organized by OPIC administration.

We look forward to seeing you in Yokohama, Japan's second largest city.


The recent progresses in the fast ignition and high field physics with high power lasers will be focused in this workshop.
The following topics will be discussed.

Invited speakers (31/Dec./2015 updated)

The following speakers have already agreed to present invited talks in the workshop

Committee Members

Chair of CLES Hiroshi Azechi (Osaka University, Japan)
Co-chairs of the workshop Hiroyuki Shiraga (Osaka University, Japan), Prav Patel (LLNL, USA), Peter Norreys (University of Oxford, UK)
Program Commitee S. Fujioka (Chair), H. Nishimura, M. Nakai, K. Shigemori, H. Nagatomo, A. Morace, H. Sakagami, T. Johzaki, T. Taguchi, T. Ozaki, Y. Sentoku, J. Fernandez, W. Theobald, F. Beg, D. Batani, M. Roth, A. P. L. Robinson, H. Cai, N. Sircombe
Local Exective Commitee H. Nagatomo (Chair), S. Fujioka, N. Mekata