Institute of Laser Engineering, Osaka University


Activities for International Cooperation


We are promoting the international cooperation with universities and laboratories in the world to explore the high energy density science through the collaborations using a high-power laser system, GEKKO-XII and LFEX, which is the most powerful laser system worldwide as academic facility.
We have now five International Cooperation Offices (ICO) as collaboration hub at the research institute which we have exchanged the mutual interrelationship agreement between two institutions. The following institutes have the ICOs;

  • Laboratoire d’utilisation des lasers intenses, France
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf e.V.(HZDR), Germany
  • General Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering, ELI-NP, Romania
  • Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology・Institute of Physics, Vietnam

We also have concluded the interrelationship agreement with universities and research institutes worldwide for the promotion of interexchange students and researchers. The total number of bilateral agreements at the moment (May, 2018) is 32, as listed below;

North America, Oceania Rice University, USA
University of Illinois・Fusion Studies Laboratory, USA
The University of Adelaide, Australia
Europe, Russia Università degli Studi di Roma La Sapienza・Dipartimento di Scienze di Base e Applicate per l’Ingegneria, Italy
University of Bordeaux・Centre Lasers Intenses et Applications, France
Horia Hulubei National Institute for R&D in Physics and Nuclear Engineering・Extreme Light Infrastructure – Nuclear Physic, Romania
University of Polytechnic Madrid・Escuela Tecnica Superior de Ingenieros Aeronauticos Espacio, Spain
Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf e.V.(HZDR), Germany
National Research Nuclear University MEPhI・Moscow Engineering Physics Institute, Russia
Institute of Applied Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
Asia Nanjing University, China
Institute for Basic Science・Center for Relativistic Laser Science, Korea
Center for Advanced Meta-Materials, Korea
National Central University・Department of Physics, Taiwan
Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology・Institute of Physics, Vietnam
Mapúa University, Philippines


Chief Yasuhiko SENTOKU ILE, Osaka University, Professor
Staff Nobuhiko SARUKURA ILE, Osaka University, Professor (Asia)
Masakatsu MURAKAMI ILE, Osaka University, Professor (Spain)
Shinsuke FUJIOKA ILE, Osaka University, Professor (USA)
Akifumi YOGO ILE, Osaka University, Associate Professor (Russia & East EU)
Yoichi SAKAWA ILE, Osaka University, Associate Professor (Germany)
Takayoshi SANO ILE, Osaka University, Assistant Professor (France)
Mami KURISU ILE, Osaka University, Secretary